Photographic Memory Mondays #3

I initially intended this to be every monday. As you may have read in my original post about this e-event I initiated.

The idea was inspired by a friend, the american adventuress, blog can be viewed here http://thisamericanadventuress.wordpress.com/

She instituted Moto Man Mondays as part of her content while she is on her Peace Corps Contract in Cameroon. Posting consistently is a challenge for me. Once I get started the content is easy to generate, but it helps to have a unifying idea so that I am not just posting random stuff. I also looked at some of my statistics on my dashboard, I only use free wordpress stuff cuz I is broke, and most of the posts that get views are stuff from Peru, Bolivia and Argentina. Very little people care that I did a bunch of yoga or whatever life challenge I am putting myself through. Though there were quite a few views from the Vegan stuff.

Thus, Photographic memory mondays gives me a little bit of structure, which despite my mild ODD/stubbornness, does allow me to operate at a higher level and aids my writing. I despise structure that is forced upon me, but also thrive under it if I can stomach it without rebelling. A wildfire creates tons of energy, but also causes tons of damage and devours its own life force. While a torch can light your way, a candle can evoke peace and reflection and a furnace can produce heat and energy needed for creation. And that is why I have added this little bit of structure a bit of direction for this curly soul.

Energetically I am classified as fire, though I despise classification, which is why I present this in this way.

Even with this structure imposed, I still completely forgot to post last week. The mad rush during finals is exhausting some of my already limited organizational faculties.

And now without further ado, Photographic Memory Mondays #3 8-25-14.

This weeks theme is….Mountains.

Wherever I go, It seems that I seek these particular features out.

DSCN1644
Mountain Goats midway up the trail to Quandary Peak. Definitely try to climb 14ers on a weekday if you can. The popularity of some of these trails leads to a very overcrowded and often not very peaceful experience. Qunadary Peak was a little like the Inca Trail, you had to time your climb if you wanted to get any sense of nature or isolation. Plus it makes the necessary pee stops pretty impossible.
DSCN1628
View from the top of Quandary Peak.
DSCN1623
Quandary Peak
DSCN1616
The view from Quandary’s real summit of the false summit. It looks much easier from this perspective.
DSCN1606
Silhouetting the ridge line. I like to pretend that I am a photographer and put some effort into taking interesting photos. However, my lack of dedication for learning the art means I get a lot of goofy photos and never really what I intend to capture. Oh well.
DSCN1590
They are not as close as they look, but the people were getting a little to close to the goats at times. I would imagine that a pissed off mountain goat wouldn’t be a whole lot of fun to deal with. Also I bet the goats like the weekdays better too.
DSCN1584
There weren’t many flowers up Quandary, but there were a few. It is hard for much of anything to grow up there. Also very hard on the head, causing tons of aches. Like I said before, Quandary is an easy 14er, but it is till 14,000 feet up there. Very little oxygen up there for us bipeds.
DSCN1567
The beginning of the hike. Picturesque the entire way. At the beginning I remember saying, wow with scenery like this it is a wonder why people don’t climb 14ers all the time. The energy drain and slight headache for the rest of the day reminded me why people do walk other trails.
Lake Titicaca and Machu Picchu 11-5-31 082
Islands are Underwater mountains. This is one of the small Islands in Lake Titicaca.
CIMG8846
My best impersonation of the Redeemer statue. Though I don’t think JC ever puts his head up when posing for those statues. It looks something more of an ascension piece. Note, the poncho was not big enough to fit over my backpack, this is a necessary attribute when outfitting for a backcountry experience. Luckily, I had a backpack cover and really good showers pass jacket to wear. It was especially fun doing little side jaunts without the back pack. Thanks for the Pic enrico!
DSC00811
The mountain paradise of Machu Picchu. Seeing this for the first time after 3 days on the trail was magical. The sun crept over the sun gate behind us an revealed the city like it was a movie. The Euphoria of the 3 am rise and exhaustion and mounting fatigue made the view glow even more poignantly. Even with the overcrowded trails this trail is still in a phenomenal adventure and the guides feed you well too. Just make sure you tip your porters and guides well. They earn a fraction of the enormous price you probably paid and they do the trail many times a month. Also make sure you have some fresh coca leaves and trekking poles, the stairs are killer especially the downhill. Protect yo knees!!
DSC00756
The sunrise over the mountains behind us on the last day on the Inca trail.
DSC00601
The epic greenery from the camp on day 2.
Isla del sol chakra 038
The Bolivian Mountains surrounding Lake Titicaca as seen from Isla del Sol. Much thanks to Javier the argentine who sang the praises of Isla del Sol inspired me to make this particular island part of the experience. I ended up going to the Lake twice. Once from the Peruvian side at the beginning of the trip and then again at the end of the trip. Stayed on the island for 7 days and met some amazing people doing incredible things.
Isla del sol chakra 072
This is most of the people I hung out with down there for a week. I couldn’t find a picture with everyone. I am sure that someone has that. Oh well. It was a simple life down there. To be honest I was pretty bored by the end, my headspace is not always as peaceful as it could be and I need stimulation. Still, It was a good time.
My bow pulling is better than this now!
Yoga on the mountain. *I know yoga isn’t all about Asana, but posing helps soothe my needy ego. That brings up the question, am I soothing it or feeding it? Jury is still out on that one.
Isla del sol chakra 077
The village halfway to the other side of Isla del Sol. Each day we walked around or across the island. Most of the people in the group loved the cheap avocados and bananas. I have the unfortunate luck of being allergic to both of the most abundant and nutritious foods in South America. I still survived and thrived though.
The Ultimate goal. http://bikramyogasaltlakecity.blogspot.com/2012/11/tip-of-week-toe-stand.html
This is just an old post that I found on google. I used it when I was doing the yoga challenge oh so long ago. Still can’t do toe stand though, gotta open those hips!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The top of the Death Road bike ride in Bolivia. We went from 4k+ meters to 1200 meters in about three hours and our guide said we were faster than most groups. He was probably just trying to make us feel better. That ride was really fun. Paved road on the top part and then the trail on the bottom. It is really easy cycling so if you are a real mountain biker you may be bored, still fun to bomb it though. And the companies doe more challenging rides for people with requisite skills. Bolivia is a wonderland for mountain adventure.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Photo break on the top half. Yes I am the one doing bow pulling pose. It was always the only thing I could think of for picture time. *Note- Picture time is common during adventure time abroad. P.S. Adventure Time the tv show is awesome. It may have supplanted Futurama in my life at this point. And the good news it doesn’t get shitty after season 8.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
View of the Death Road. ’nuff said
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Top half pave bomb. I wish I knew how fast we were going, that would be a cool stat to find out.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The Scenery turned from desolate mountain to jungle so fast. I cannot emphasize enough how freaking beautiful Bolivia is. I also hope it doesn’t turn into Costa Rica and that it benefits from the increased tourism and does not get destroyed by it. The gap between rich and poor is especially stark in many countries in South America. And it only gets worse when you add in some of the exploitation and pollution mismanaged tourism can bring
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The joys of photo ops. That trail was definitely one of the best things I did in South America.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View from the Sky Bar at the Adventure Brew Hostal
View from the Sky Bar at the Adventure Brew Hostel. I spent one week bar tending here in exchange for my stay in the hostel. I needed the exchange to, cuz I was running out of money and still had to figure out how to get to isla del sol then back to Cusco and Lima after that to catch my flight home. I made it back to Denver with about 15 bucks in my account. Next time I plan to budget better and figure out how to earn money while abroad. The price of travel is way to much when you have nothing coming in. However, if I can figure out a way to offset the cost, I can look forward to views like this for as long as I want. Free life!

Leave a Reply

