Vegan Experiment, feast your eyes

One of the best parts of the Vegan experiment was the multitude of new foods and food combinations that crossed paths with my palate.

Beets, my new best friend. I had always enjoyed beets before, but not the way I did these last four months. I connected with them wholly. I juiced them, which always added a deep red sweetness to my juices. I roasted them with oranges at the recommendation of new seasons employee. I roasted them with potatoes and marinated them in Balsamic Vinegar.

Balsamic Vinegar, the boss of sauces. I had been using apple cider vinegar for salads and marinades for the last few years. I had also been using it mixed with a lot of water and a bit of lemon to recover after workouts. But in the last two months of my experiment, I fell in love with Balsamic Vinegar. Barrel aged Balsamic Vinegar, almost as thick as honey and complex and rich as port wine. I couldn’t believe how good it was. I started adding it to my sea salt and vinegar chips. And to almost everything I ate. I found a place in my town that sells aged Balsamic Vinegar that is infused with essential oils of lemon or cayenne or garlic. They even have a chocolate flavor. As you can imagine this opened a whole new world for my taste buds.

Kale, I know I am jumping on the bandwagon. Kale is amazing. I fell in love with it last year, it and other things. Its anti-carcinogenic properties and similar taste to brussel sprouts and broccoli, when steamed, make it destined to be a tastebud pleaser. I made Kale Slaw with, you guessed it, Balsamic Vinegar. Kale chips, I threw it in salads and soups, I fried it and stuffed it into peppers and added it to beans and rice. I used it as a wrap for porto-burgers and often just chomped n it raw.

Spinach, I have been eating spinach out of a bag for years. I know it is rabbit food, but rabbits have good taste.

Necessary Shout out to…Seeds – Hemp Pumpkin, Chia, Flax, Oatmeal, Fake bread, Nutritional yeast, and Kombucha

I researched new ways to prepare vegan meals to keep me healthy and satisfy my appetite.

Here are some of the results…

Enjoy…I know I did.

C.A.

wheat meat!
wheat meat!

IMG_2735IMG_5830 IMG_5829

Portabello burger with Sweet Hot mustard on Dave's Killer bread and veggie kabobs
Portabello burger with Sweet Hot mustard on Dave’s Killer bread and veggie kabobs
IMG_5793
These would be amazing to bad I am allergic to avocados and bananas.
IMG_5787
Vegetable Soup baked in acorn squash
IMG_5777
Mighty Bowl in one of the few food trucks in Vancouver, WA
IMG_5747
Beans and Rice at the Conquistador!!
IMG_5731
Falafel at Low Bar, Vancouver WA, it is vegan if they hold the sauce. This place is amazing. They have great beer too.
IMG_5722
Dark Chocolate Almond butter cups
IMG_5727
Interior view of Dark Chocolate Almond Butter cup
IMG_5674
Mexican Tabouleh
IMG_5656
Sweet Potato Fries!!
IMG_5646
Curried Lentils on a bed of Kelp noodles and strings of zucchini and carrots
IMG_5682
Falafel at Jeruasalem Cafe
IMG_5639
beet elixir
IMG_5632
green juice
IMG_5634
How many vegetables can you fit into your glass?
IMG_5608
Peanut Butter, Apple, Fake bacon, Spinach
IMG_5591
Cafe Vita Portland, Tempeh Scramble
IMG_5588
Lentil Soup…I think this is the bowl that got me sick during the first week.
IMG_5888
BBQ Brussels Bowl at Bye and Bye in Portland
IMG_5887
Bye and Bye, sad out of avocado sign
IMG_5889
Bye and Bye, Grilled Cheese and Vegan Chili
IMG_5892
Enjoying the Brussel BBq Bowl!!!
IMG_5930
Lunch at Blossoming Lotus. Dahl, Mac and Cheese and Sesame Beets.
IMG_5942
Blossoming Lotus, Heirloom BLT and of course Mac and cheese
IMG_5957
Heirloom Tomato Salad, Pre-seasoning
IMG_5960
Heirloom Tomato Salad Post Seasoning
IMG_6002
Blossoming Lotus, Seasonal Vegetable Pasta. This stuff is amazing.
IMG_5998
Beet Juice at Blossoming Lotus
IMG_6001
Beet Juice Top View
IMG_6009
Vegan Chocolate Cake, Blossoming Lotus.

IMG_5794 IMG_5783 IMG_5743 IMG_5741 IMG_5636 IMG_5635 IMG_5628 IMG_5606 IMG_5605 IMG_5603 IMG_5602 IMG_5601 IMG_5600 IMG_5599 IMG_5593 IMG_5592 IMG_6026

5 thoughts on “Vegan Experiment, feast your eyes

  1. Wow! Talk about eating a rainbow! Gorgeous pics of gorgeous food! Mind sharing how you roast your beets with oranges? That sounds phenomenal. I hated beets my entire life and went in search of someone to make me like them. Found a couple of places that have the roasted in salads and I’m completely hooked.

    1. I just brush the beets and the oranges with olive oil and put them in a covered casserole dish. I haven’t tried this yet, but I bet you could marinate the beets and oranges with some balsamic vinegar overnight and then bake them in the same dish you marinate them in. I have tried it with beets and potatoes and that is amazing.

  2. That chocolate cake looks amazing! I am also super impressed with the wheat meat. It looked great on those sandwiches! You have inspired me to make heirloom salad for dinner:0)

    1. I am glad you are impressed. Heirloom tomatoes are so good. Try it with a little balsamic vinegar and oregano on top. And add any veggies you want, or even fruit like the peaches in mine.

Leave a Reply

