Flowers of the Andes

This is another late entry into, a word in your ear’s, word of the week challenge. When she posted this challenge, I couldn’t believe the simple serendipity of it all. The challenge can be found here.
http://suellewellyn2011.wordpress.com/2012/11/19/a-word-a-week-photograph-challenge-flower/

I am currently traveling in Peru and just a few weeks ago, I visited Machu Picchu. I am prone to excessive photo taking, whether it be of food, friends, or in this case flowers.

So this is my experience of the beautiful flowers of the Andes. From Cusco to Aguas Calientes. A large range of elevation change.
There are many different varieties. The higher elevations tend to produce more compact specimens in the mountain landscape, making their beauty all the more significant.

From the Island of Amantani on Lake Titicaca
In the garden of the South American Explorers Clubhouse. I see this flower every day now.
Like the sun
more from my courtyard
From the Plaze De Armas
More from the Plaza

Brilliant white, the market on the Moray tour

puuuurple

Yellow hue and a great view
Flower used for ritual hallucinations
Little flowers big leaves

From Aguas Calientes
tiny and vibrant
From “Winaywayna” which means forever young

zoomed in

And now a few word from William Blake’s “The Wild Flower’s Song.”

“As I wandered the forest,
The green leaves among,
I heard a Wild Flower
Singing a song.

‘I slept in the earth
In the silent night,
I murmured my fears
And I felt delight.”

Viva Bonitas Cosas
Viva Aventura

~C.A.

4 thoughts on “Flowers of the Andes

  1. Hi Curly Adventurer – LONG TIME!!
    Its very nice to hear from you and great to see your still traveling and experiencing wonderful things! I’m getting back on my video journalism path…and still developing business in holiday homes with the addition of holistic retreats! Looking forward to reading more of your stuff 🙂 Jade

    1. Jade,

      Yes, it has been a long time. Holidays homes sounds like a great business to be in and holistic retreats are a great addition. I will try to keep posting again. Sometimes life is in the way, but writing is a great practice for finding clarity.
      ~curly

Leave a Reply

