Peruvian Food Part 1, Is it really worth writing home about?

Ensalada de Fruta with Coconut milkshake at La Bondiet.

“Food, glorious food, hot sausage and mustard, while we’re in the mood, cold jelly and custard, peas, pudding and saveloys, what next is the question. Rich Gentleman, have it boys, indigestion.” Oliver.

*This post is part of the word a week challenge. To find more about this visit http://suellewellyn2011.wordpress.com/2012/10/14/a-word-a-week-photography-challenge-food

The Traditional at Los Perros. Garlic mashed potatos and steak cooked to tender perfection.

I love food. It could be said and indeed has been said by more than one person, that I experience life through food. This is an astute observation. It is not the only way that I experience life, but it is certainly a major lens through which I view, absorb, consume(?) experiences. I am always eating and always yearning for a new culinary experience. When I am at home, most of my adventures involve discovery of new places to eat, unique, exotic, interesting places.

Talk about interesting. Fish Head Soup on the “Urros” Floating Islands on Lake Titicaca. Adventurous, but I’d rather eat a nice bowl of lentil soup.

The most recent Portland Restaurant month was incredible. I was able to visit ten new places. Each restaurant was as good as the next and offered a new discovery of its own (more on this when I have time use my backlog.) The menu was limited, but it didn’t matter, because the place was new, so the food was new.

The inside of this flower, ancestor of the pineapple is food for Andean bears. This one overlooks the glory of Machu Picchu.

What’s more? I was able to collect these culinary experiences in good company. Which is important, because though food makes me happy, and “happiness is real when shared.” Into the Wild.

Los Perros, the essence of sharing food and happiness.

These days, in Peru I mean, I do not have to go far to find culinary adventure. It is everywhere. Cusco is a great place to eat with healthy variety. Aside from the traditional Peruvian Cuisine, which is unique, in more ways than its obsession for potatoes.

Potato wedges at Aguaymanto, an amazing and under appreciated restaurant in Cusco.

There are multitudes of restaurants catering to the entire array of international tastebuds. It is rather annoying to be on a trip, where I am trying to focus on Spanish immersion, and being surrounded instead by tourists speaking English. I can’t be too disappointed by this, because I am one of them.

Andean Pizza with Alpaca. Pizza Andina in Puno

The high number of tourists makes the culinary experience diverse and adventurous. I have tried so many different types of food here already and am on a path to try many more. I was going to list them, but instead I will post pictures of as many as possible.

Mango Strawberry Pancakes at Jack’s cafe. Another favorite and sufficiently appreciated place.
Glorious Sauteed garlic mushrooms a good friends key to happiness. Jack’s Cafe
Alpaca in herb sauce. La Retama. One of the better restaurants on the Plaza de Armas.
Cusquena Negra or Malta in a wine glass at La Retama. While the food here is an adventure, the beer is a bore. This is one of the few passable options.
With only bread, jam and tea offered for breakfast. An egg sandwich is often in order. This is from a small sandwich shop on the way to the Language school.
Half of Juanito’s, Lomo Saltado, with the best french fries in Cusco. So good that my mouth ate half of it before I could get my camera out.
Another amazing breakfast at Jack’s
Alpaca Cheeseburger at Aguaymanto. Magnifico!
Inside View. Seriously if you are in Cusco you need to go to Aguaymanto. They make their own pasta in house! And they know their Pisco.
Nachos at Agauymanto…
The take on Bangers and mash at Los Perros. Sweet potatoes and maple.
Los Perros giant burger. Up close and further down on the table.
Los Perros, inside view
Alpaca steak and mashed potatoes at The Muse
Rigatoni with meat sauce and cheese at The Muse. Needs more salsa. Also they have live Salsa Music almost every night at 12:30.
Jaunitos pork sandwich with an egg wrapped around it. Best to share this one.

More adventures in Peruvian cuisine to come.

Viva Aventura

~C.A.

8 thoughts on “Peruvian Food Part 1, Is it really worth writing home about?

  1. The food looks delicious! Have enjoyed reading your blog. Your experiences offer a varied view of life in another country. Appreciate all the photos. I did not realize (altho it makes sense, if I had really thought about it) people ate the meat from Alpacas. Your tips for means of transportation and for how to manage the tours to places of interest is very helpful. Lucy Klaas

  2. I also had no idea they ate alpaca! It seems like a very meat-centric place. Great photo’s. Although they say “Don’t live to eat; eat to live” I figure you should at least enjoy it since its such a real part of life!

  3. I’ve always said, you can never take a bad picture of good food. Excellent photog!
    That giant burger is making my mouth water, and I’m on a diet… 😦

Leave a Reply

